[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next]

Sequence of TS founding

Mar 12, 2006 08:58 PM
by krsanna

The claims that various theosophical societies were founded in 1875 
is at best a deficit of understanding, nonetheless deceptive.  

The TS was first incorporated in New York in 1875 under the laws of 
New York state that had no jurisdicton outside the U.S.  W. Q. Judge 
remained in New York after Olcott and Blavatsky moved to India and 
managed the first TS.

The Theosophical Society in America was created by W. Q. Judge in 
1895.  Olcott's response was to expel from the Adyar Society the 
lodges that had gone with Judge.  Olcott's explusion included the 
original Theosophical Society created in New York.

The Theosophical Society in Adyar was established as an association 
in 1878 or 1879, after Olcott moved to Adyar.  Adyar incorporated in 
India in 1905.

The American Section under Adyar incorporated in 1926 then changed 
its name to the Theosophical Society in America in 1934.

The American Section that transformed into the TSA at Wheaton was 
established no earlier than 1895, when the lodges that voted with 
Judge were expelled.  TSA claims that it has existence since 1875 
are inaccurate.  


[Back to Top]

Theosophy World: Dedicated to the Theosophical Philosophy and its Practical Application